

Photo by Jessica Kaminsk

WELGOME

Ever notice how everything seems a little more when you watch a movie in a theater? More beautiful, more humorous, more touching, more important. Sure, the screen is bigger and the sound louder, but the people in the seats around us remind us that the story on the screen is not just about brave explorers or young lovers, revolutionary crusaders or extravagant characters, it's about the human experience. That's what the Milwaukee Film Festival is all about: engaging with the human experience through film.

Filmmakers from around the world, throughout the country, and right here in Milwaukee tell stories as vibrant and diverse as their places of origin and yet, somewhere, in any of them, we can see ourselves and something completely new. Engaging with story grows empathy. And when we step out of the theater, we can take that back into the world and spread it. Imagine: For 15 days, stretching out across the city, there's a web of over 60,000 festival attendees, pulling with them new insights, fresh understanding,

and the joy of being recently entertained. Sometimes a film elevates a general social consciousness. Sometimes it just makes someone more nice or interesting or fun to be around.

The board and staff of Milwaukee Film, along with our generous sponsors and volunteers, have worked hard to put the festival together and to create an environment that fosters connections in our city. We are thrilled that you have decided to join us. Each of you brings something more to the festival.

racy of their forthe

See you at the theatre,

Tracey Klein
PRESIDENT, BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Jonathan Jackson
ARTISTIC & EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

MILWAUKEE FILM BOARD OF DIRECTORS

PRESIDENT

Tracey L. Klein

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Chris Abele, Past President

John P. Bania, Development Vice Co-Chair

Alexander P. Fraser, Governance Vice Co-Chair & Secretary

Bill Haberman, Finance Vice Co-Chair & Past President

Patti Keating Kahn, Education Vice Co-Chair

Kenneth C. Krei, Governance Vice Co-Chair

Steve Laughlin, Strategic Planning Vice Co-Chair & Past President

Emilia Layden, Education Vice Co-Chair

Marianne Lubar, Strategic Planning Vice Co-Chair

Sara Meaney, Development Vice Co-Chair

Joseph A. Rock, Finance Vice Co-Chair & Treasur

MEMBERS

Donna Baumgartner
Tina Chang
Robert M. Davis, DVM
Michael Drescher
Karen Ellenbecker
Jeff Fitzsimmons
Cecelia Gore
Carmen Haberman
Susan Haise
Katie Heil
Michael G. Klein
Mary Ann LaBahn

Alexander Lasry Steve Mech Barry Poltermann Bob Pothier Dave Stamm Julia Taylor John Utz

EMERITUS MEMBERS Tom Barrett Jacqueline Strayer